Ruokolahti Museum

 

Address: Rasilantie 1 56100 Ruokolahti     Map >>>

Inquiries: Phone: +358 40 015 1485

Opening times: 

5.6.-19.8. Tue -Sun 11-17 and by prior arrangement. 

Services: café

Admissions: adults 3 €, children under 12 years free

 

INFORMATION

The Ruokolahti Local History Museum is situated on the famous Ruokolahti Church Hill opposite the bell tower, in a granary built by Antti Enlund in 1861. The museum was opened in 1955, and is maintained by the Ruokolahti Association (Ruokolahti-Seura).

Not far from the museum stands Ruokolahti House. Owned by the Ruokolahti Association, this is a heritage house which is used for various celebrations, meetings and exhibitions. The house was built in summer 1980 in the style of a 19th century farmhouse from Rehula in Junnikkala. Today, its farmhouse courtyard boasts a magnificent row of granaries and storehouses, a smoke sauna, a kiln and other traditional outbuildings which were brought here to be erected on the site. The house and the courtyard are open to the public, and you can enjoy a welcome cup of coffee here.

 

EXHIBITIONS

The three-storey museum building boasts extensive exhibition areas, which are devoted to the many aspects of the history of Ruokolahti. On the ground floor are the Coin Room, the Edelfelt Room and the section housing the church museum. In addition to old coins and notes, the Coin Room also displays prehistoric artefacts discovered in Ruoholahti. Other displays include the solemn declarations signed by the Russian Grand Dukes when Finland was an autonomous Grand Duchy within the Russian Empire (1809-1917). The Edelfelt Room hosts various temporary exhibitions and features both men’s and women’s regional costumes. The large church museum section was set up in 1972, when the parish of Ruokolahti was celebrating its 400th anniversary. The exhibits here include an altar, a chandelier, a church heating stove, a pulpit and various religious texts and ecclesiastical textiles.

On the first floor above, visitors can admire old household items and art and craft objects. Some of the original equipment of the granary is also housed on this floor. One of the many duties of countrywomen was to take care of all household tasks, and a specific area – which features a splendid loom – is devoted to a collection of items related to handicrafts. On this floor visitors have the opportunity to see objects and memorabilia of the Finnish Civil Guard and from the Second World War. A reproduction of Bobi Sivén’s death mask deserves a special mention.

On the second floor, a generous amount of space has been devoted to a range of objects illustrating the various ways people used to make a living in this area. Each ‘peasant industry’ has a separate display area: thus, forestry, hunting, fishing and agriculture are all well represented here. On this floor there is also a collection of old-fashioned means of transport, such as a sleigh and several pairs of skis.

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email