The Border Museum


Address:
  Immolan varuskunta-alue, Niskapietiläntie 32 E, Imatra   Map >>>

Contact: phone 0295 429 515 , e-mail: jani.loijas(a)raja.fi

Open: from 4.8.2020 Tue-Fri 12-16, Sat 11-15. Museum is closed on  Sundays ja Mondays.

Entrance fees: free entrance

 

 

DETAILS

Opened in 1989, the Border Museum is located in the Immola Barracks of the Border Guard of South-East Finland, 7 km north of Imatra’s Central Railway Station. Access to the museum is along the Niskapietilä Museum Road.

Built by volunteer border guards during their leisure time, the museum is owned by the Border and Coast Guard Academy. The museum is open in the summer, and at other times by prior arrangement.

 

EXHIBITION

The Border Museum’s permanent exhibition traces the history of Finland’s frontiers and that of the Border Guard. This exhibition also provides an insight into the life and work of border guards during the period following Finland’s independence (since 1917), in times of war and peace. It begins by focusing on the history of the Finnish frontier line from the time when Finland was under Swedish rule all the way to independence. The numerous showcases in the permanent exhibition display items connected with border control work, and illustrate situations that may occur during this work. (picture)

A separate showcase is devoted to Finland’s first border control dog, Caesar. Caesar served the Finnish state during the 1920s, and died in 1929. (picture)

Border control work also reflected the various periods of Finland’s history. The Border Museum displays informative scale models illustrating the different periods. (picture)

 

 

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email