Cavalry Museum

 

Address: Kristiinankatu 2, Linnoitus, 53100 Lappeenranta   Map >>>

Inquiries: (05) 616 2257, 615 2261

Opening times: Museum is closed in the summer of 2017 because of renovations.

Admissions: see website http://www.lappeenranta.fi/Suomeksi/Palvelut/Kulttuuri/Museot.iw3

Website >>>

 

 

INFORMATION

The Cavalry Museum is housed in the former guardhouse of the Lappeenranta fortifications, and dates from the 1770’s. The museum was opened in 1973. In the Cavalry Museum you can experience the fire of the fierce Hackapelites and succumb to the charm of the red-panted dragoons.

Lappeenranta garrison was constructed during the 1890ís, and was perhaps in its time the best garrison facility in the Russian Empire. During the 1920’s and 1930’s, both the Uusimaa (Nyland) Regiment of Dragoons and the Häme (Tavastland) Regiment of Cavalry were stationed in Lappeenranta garrison. Several uniforms and banners from this period can be seen at the exhibition.

 

EXHIBITIONS

The Cavalry belonged to the Lappeenranta street scene from the 1880’s, when a garrison was built for the Finninsh Dragoon Regiment. Uniforms, weapons and numerous documents give a colourful picture of town and garrison life.

 


Print Friendly, PDF & Email