Luumäki Fortress And Local History Museum

 

Address: Linnalantie 35 54500, Taavetti    Map >>>

Inquiries: 040 7123 525, www.luumaki.fi

Opening times: 8.6.-4.8.2018 Friday 12 – 16 and Saturday 10 – 16

Services:

Admissions: free

 

 

INFORMATION

The Fortress and Local History Museum is located at Taavetti in Luumäki, right next to the Taavetti Fortress near the Municipal Hall. Founded in 1954, the museum has been operating on this present site since 1989. The museum is owned by the municipality of Luumäki.

The building also houses the tourist information office for the municipality. The museum is open during the summer, and at other times by prior arrangement.

 

EXHIBITIONS

The exhibits are divided into eight rooms. In 1773, the Russians built an extensive fortification system in Taavetti, the Fortress of Luumäki, which is featured in the first exhibition area. The second room focuses on prehistoric artefacts found in Luumäki. In the showcases visitors can see bone objects, stone artefacts and quartz chunks. This section also boasts a large collection of photographs portraying archaeological digs in Luumäki.

The third exhibition room hosts various temporary exhibitions. In summer 2002, the theme of the exhibition was the Finnish Civil War in 1918. A separate section is devoted to the history of Luumäki’s schools. The section includes the furnished interior of an old classroom; this brings the past to life with the double desks, a blackboard and an old harmonium.

The ethnographic section of the museum displays a variety of farmhouse items dating from the 18th to the 20th century. These include a large collection of objects relating to dairy work, hunting and fishing. A separate room features the skills of craftspeople in Luumäki; on display here are objects connected with flax processing, and a loom. A special feature of the museum is an assortment of beautiful ‘picture quilts’, along with their patterns which are stored in the handicraft room. The so-called Siiropää ‘picture quilt’ is displayed on the wall.

A separate area illustrates the ecclesiastical history of Luumäki. On view are pictures and objects tracing the history of Luumäki church; there is also an old Bible which dates from 1852. The cross which used to hang above the altar is also displayed here. In the porch of the museum there is a photographic display illustrating the history of log floating in Luumäki.

 

 
Print Friendly, PDF & Email